Definition of Hazardous Goods

The main criterion for defining hazardous medical goods is the degree of infection risk they carry. The ADR differentiates between the following. 

  • Biological products (also for the prevention and treatment of illnesses)
  • Cultures (results of a process)
  • Genetically altered microorganisms
  • Medical or clinical waste
  • Samples taken from patients

Category A and B items are sorted according to the degree of danger of infection. Category A substances are dangerous for humans and animals, and are listed by name in the ADR. All substances not considered to be category A are placed in category B.

Category A list (PDF)

However, the contents of the list are constantly changing and it is officially updated every two years.